Poor, Poor Pitiful NU President, JB Milliken – As a Pretend Public Servant, He Only Makes $633,350 Dollars! – OMG How’s a Person Supposed to Live on that in Lincoln, I ask you, My Friends – Let’s Take Up a Collection for our Big Ten “Mid-Range” Near-Destitute PUBLIC Titan!

May 13, 2013


Milliken gets boost on list of college presidents’ pay
By Leslie Reed

Click here to view the complete Chronicle of Higher Education annual survey of executive compensation.

LINCOLN — With $651,908 total compensation, University of Nebraska President J.B. Milliken was the 34th-highest-paid president of a public university during the 2011-12 fiscal year, according to a new national survey.

He ranked ahead of Sally Mason, University of Iowa president since 2007, whose compensation of $633,350 put her at 39th among public university presidents.

The information about Milliken’s and Mason’s pay was included in the Chronicle of Higher Education’s annual survey of executive compensation, released Sunday.

The survey reported compensation data for chief executives at 191 public universities and systems in the United States.

David Lechner, NU vice president for business and finance, protested that the survey artificially inflated Milliken’s pay by including about $175,000 in deferred compensation paid out last year. Milliken earned the deferred compensation, at a rate of 11 percent per year, over several years. In 2011-12 he received a payment covering his five prior years as NU president.

Milliken’s base salary in 2011-12 was $411,370.

“I disagree with their way of calculating,” Lechner said. “I don’t think it represents what he earned that year.”

The Chronicle report, however, included such payments in its calculations for all executives listed in the survey.

The highest-paid executive for the year was Graham Spanier, a former University of Nebraska-Lincoln chancellor who was ousted from Penn State University in November 2011 after the Jerry Sandusky child sexual abuse scandal.

The $1.25 million in severance pay and $1.25 million in deferred compensation that Spanier received put him atop the list, although he was already well-paid. He ranked as the third-highest-compensated executive in U.S. higher education in 2010-11, when he collected $1.07 million.

Auburn University’s Jay Gogue was second on the 2011-12 list. Upon his hiring in 2007, Gogue was promised $1.25 million in deferred compensation if he stayed five years. The five years were up in 2011-12, and his total compensation topped $2.5 million.

Spanier and Gogue both moved ahead of Ohio State President E. Gordon Gee, who had been the nation’s highest-paid public university president for several years running. His compensation in 2011-12 was $1.89 million, compared with $1.99 million the previous year.

The Chronicle’s calculation of compensation adds bonuses, retirement payments, severance pay, deferred compensation payments and deferred compensation amounts set aside for future payments.

NU’s Milliken, president since 2004, moved from 100th place in the 2011 survey to 34th in 2012. In addition to the deferred compensation payment, he received a 12 percent salary increase. The Chronicle also included in its calculations $19,197 set aside for a future deferred compensation payment.

Milliken received the 2011 raise after voluntarily freezing his salary for two years in 2009. The raise he accepted in 2011 was approved by the Board of Regents in 2008.

Lechner disagreed with the survey for including $47,310 in deferred compensation set aside for future payment if Milliken remains two more years as president. Lechner called the inclusion of those funds “double counting,” because the same funds are reported when they are set aside and again when they are paid out. The Chronicle said its report was consistent with the way the IRS taxes such compensation.

Contact the writer: 402-473-9581, leslie.reed@owh.com

Chronicle of Higher Education’s survey

Compensation and rankings of select public college presidents and chancellors, including some from the Big Ten and Big 12:

Rank President School Total compensation
6 Mary Sue Coleman University of Michigan system $918783
8 Mark G. Yudof University of California system $847149
10 Francisco G. Cigarroa University of Texas system $815833
18 William C. Powers University of Texas at Austin $719792
24 Michael Hogan University of Illinois system $680525
26 Lou Anna K. Simon Michigan State University $672000
32 Michael McRobbie Indiana University system $653258
33 Eric W. Kaler University of Minnesota, Twin Cities $653235
47 David L. Boren University of Oklahoma, Norman $608447
144 Harvey S. Perlman UNL $368337
178 John E. Christensen UNO $316894

Correction: A previous version of this story included an incorrect figure while comparing J.B. Milliken’s compensation package with that offered other U.S. public higher education executives.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: