Mucho Nelnet Complaints on “Pissed Consumer” – Yet, the Company Continues to Get Federal Contracts. Go Figure.

April 9, 2013

Uncategorized

Nelnet Reviews and Complaints

Total Complaints 35

Nelnet asked for a sum of money on their website for both of my accounts. They applied the entire amount to one account. I complained and was told that they could not reapply the money between the accounts because there was a payment due in 30 days. With that logic they could NEVER make the adjustment until the loans were paid off. I asked to speak to the person bosss and was…

Newport News, Virginia

Aug 02, 2012

Nelnet extorting fees

Nelnet recently bought Tuition Management Services. They are now processing tuition payments for my child’s private school. Nelnet billed me $350 for the first month. I paid on time. They then sent me a late notice that I owed their $40 “enrollment fee” that I was never billed for or that never showed on their web site for my account. My account showed paid in full. I immediately…

Catonsville, Maryland

Jul 23, 2012

NelNet Student Loans – Ripoff

I consolidated 3 student loans in 2005 totalling 50,000 with Nelnet Inc. The interest rate on 2 of the loans was 3.13% and the other was 6.7%. I had one brief deferrment and the interest was capitalized which added another 3,000 to the loan. To date, after $16,000 in payments the balance on this loan is still $53,000. I wasn’t paying close attention and I was…

#330782

Redmond, Washington

Jul 10, 2012

Nelnet collections on student loans

Nelnet recently bought all my loans. They immediately invalidated (without notice) any loans with an in-school deferment and sent me to collections. They did the same to my parent’s relatedParent Plus Loan, which was nearly paid off but recently deferred, and sent a letter of collection for all unpaid dues during the deferment period. Just as I am about to enter my senior year,…

San Diego, California

Jun 27, 2012

Nelnet student loans

MY SON WAS LOOKING FOR A GRANT FOR SCHOOL, NELNET ASKED FOR “MY” TAX RETURNS TO SEE IF HE WAS ELIGBLE. NELNET USED MY SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OFF MY TAX RETURN, TO GIVE HIM A STUDENT LOAN, TELLING HIM IT WAS A GRANT. 8 MONTHS LATER I STARTED GETTING PHONE CALLS FROM A COLLECTION DEPARTMENT FOR NON-PAYMENT ON MY LOAN…WHAT LOAN?? THEY TOLD ME IT WAS FOR THE STUDENT LOAN “I” WAS…

Knoxville, Tennessee

Jun 19, 2012

NELNET VS DISABLED & AGED

i’M OVER 60 and ON DISABILITY. On 3 different occasions I have been told 3 different thingsabout the application for discharge of loan due to disability. Last year I was told if I was on disability for ten years then the loan could be discharged, but I have to keep up the process. This year, the story is different. Seems there is another process I have to go…

Livingston, New Jersey

May 12, 2012

Nelnet – Thieves

I paid my loan in full but Nelnet continued to withdraw money from my account through EFT. When I complained and asked for the company to return my money with interest, they laughed at me. I explained I was paying 8 percent interest on a gov’t guaranteed loan- no risk to them. And now, when they steal my money, they refuse to return it with…

Raleigh, North Carolina

May 03, 2012

Nelnet – Ruined the American Dream for this Student

First off the company is awful. No customer service what so ever. You call and wait forever and get to someone that knows nothing. Same goes for the chat feature. Rude, unhelpful, and unknowledgeable people just out for money and nothing else. This company trashed my credit. I graduated school in March 2011. The school graduated me in August 2010 and admits no error and will make no changes, but…

Honolulu, Hawaii

Apr 27, 2012

Nelnet’s Abusive Customer Service

Nelnet customer service is the worst I have ever encountered – speaking as entitled, unintelligent frat boys who have absolutely no interest in meeting the needs of their customers. With no solutions outside of the templated emails that they send out, Nelnet has hired a team of monkeys to block the castle door with little to no justification. Lie after lie and illogical argument after…

Memphis, Tennessee

Apr 24, 2012

Nelnet – the worst

I became disabled and filled out paperwork for total and permanent on my loans to dismiss them. I have filled it out, 2 loans were dismissed but the same paper they want me to go fill out again is the one they dismissed the first time. They care less about if your sick and disabled and hard to get around, just want to run you to death…BEWARE OF NELNET…

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

