Best Comment of the Day Award Goes to Joan Who Responded to Deena Winter’s Story on Gov. Heineman’s Refusal to Follow the Law

July 22, 2012

Uncategorized

Joan
2:35 pm on July 21st, 2012

“To the above persons who are anti the Affordable Care Act, it is here to stay! It is legal and it will cover millions of people who are not covered now and who use the Emergency rooms around the country and for which you currently pay for.

When Social Security, Medicare, and Medicare came into being you all cried, and now it is one of the best things our society has done for the middle class and poor. The rich can take care of themselves as demonstrated by Mitt’s elevator for his cars in his new garage.”

This is Ivy Harper writing from now on. Every time I come across a Comment on either the Lincoln Journal Star, Nebraska Watchdog, or Leavenworthst.com that is worth re-reading, I’m going to re-print it on my blog under the headline: Best Comment of the Day Award. Joan wins today because in two cogent paragraphs, she makes a great case for ObamaCare with a gentle dig at the end about Mitt Romney’s considerable wealth.

Would you believe I look forward to reading the Comment Sections on the above-mentioned entities. It’s too bad that the Omaha World-Herald – which clings to the false notion that it’s Nebraska’s Paper of Record when so many Cornhuskers have given up on it –  rarely allows Comments so desperate is the OWH to stay in control.

Yes, that’s extreme Journalistic irony; we’ll track you down like a dog [See Nancy Sebring] but oh, we take umbrage at criticism and offense to itty, bitty Comments that might hurt our reporter feelings cuz we’re just so sensitive. Like control freaks everywhere, all the OWH’s obsessive – and undemocratic – rigidity has done is make Robynn Tysver’s political work an afterthought. Let’s face it, folks, when breaking news happens, it’s Nebraska Watchdog and Leavenworthst.com and of course, the Lincoln Journal Star, that readers turn to. When I campaigned with Rebekah Davis in the 3rd CD in 2010, hardly anyone I met said they still read the OWH. Mr.’s Kotok, Reilly, and the rest of the Macho Gang of Retro Editors have pretty much “Managed” the publication into the ground that poor Mr. Buffett is trying so hard to revive.

But back to the oft-insightful Commenters on the Lincoln Journal Star, Nebraska Watchdog and yes, even Leavenworthst.com. Collectively, they’re a lively bunch of politicos with such distinct personalities. I’d really like to meet some of the folks who “Comment” a lot. For example, I have a major (totally platonic, of course) crush on Brady the Eskimo and St. Obama, too, for that matter. Although it’s funny that by picking a handle with the word ‘Saint’ in it, I almost feel sacrilegious using a word like “crush” around Saint Obama. Then again, when I was a little girl growing up in Grand Island, I adored “The Saints” so much that my idea of a treat was getting to go to a religious store and buy more colorful Saint holy cards. OMG, I collected them the way guys did baseball cards. Seriously, I think I still have my St. Anthony, St. Jude the Impossible, St. Francis of Assisi, St. Theresa, the Little Flower & St. Rose of Lima holy cards in one of my photo boxes. But I digress.

What’s really awesome, though, is to read a Comment – as happens with me – where I go, “Wow. They made a really good point” and I’m grateful for genuine Food for Thought. I’ve even changed my perspective on a number of occasions. Or they make me laugh.”

I love when that happens.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

