Sarah Paley: Kerrey’s Secret (SuperStar) Weapon

June 24, 2012

Uncategorized

Who knew my first Post would feature Sarah Paley, Bob Kerrey’s wife whom I’ve never met.

For some time, I’ve been analyzing the University of Nebraska Foundation’s annual IRS-required Form 990 and I’ve discovered some “interesting” irregularities. Ergo, I planned to list the most egregious. Starting with a couple of odd addresses.

But since I’ve got more work to do on that one, I decided to begin with a story about how the Nebraska Press Association – headed by Alan Beerman – works kinda like a media cabal that (unfairly) insures that Nebraska political incumbents keep on winning. IMHO, of course. That feature was in the can until this evening when I went to my local CVS to buy sunscreen.

During my Maryland months, I live in what they call “close-in” Bethesda/Chevy Chase. My Cape Cod cottage is – literally – just yards from Western Avenue, the iconic street that officially divides Maryland and the District of Columbia.

To give you a feel for who hangs out at our tony little Spring Valley “Village Center” – that, besides CVS, boasts the only deli in America with Iberico de Bellota Jamon (ham) imported from a centuries-old Spanish town – in just the past couple of weeks, I’ve stood behind or in front of Janet Napolitano (holding three bottles of wine against her chest at Wagshalls), Eric Holder, Evan Bayh, Andrea Mitchell (with Alan Greenspan waiting in the car) and Chief Justice John Roberts. Eric Holder lives nearby and when he stops in, closely accompanying him are three large black Suburbans with two Secret Service/FBI agents in each car who end up taking up half the small parking lot. Locals – who use to kinda like the buzz that they all made – now just roll their eyes as if to say, “Holder’s here again.”

Just setting the stage. So, here I am debating the numbers on sunscreen bottles when – for some odd reason – I picked up Vogue Magazine (which I’ve honestly never read but my daughter has become a total fashionista with a popular blog so I’m trying to “get” her new love) and – I swear to God – I randomly turned to page 38 and saw a headline that caught my eye.

Why? Because it was a play on “The Good Wife” which just so happens to be one of four tv shows that I am absolutely addicted to, to the point where I am now in Good Wife withdrawal.

Okay. So, I think to myself: I’m going to read whatever article this is because anything about “The Good Wife” is gonna be great.

Quickly, it dawned on me that the Good Wife in question was Sarah Paley and this was a Vogue column called UpFront written by Bob Kerrey’s wife. I couldn’t believe it. The first time I’ve ever leafed through a Vogue and I turn to this. OMG.

Here’s the Vogue headline: “

The (Not So) Good Wife. Bob Kerrey is running for the Senate; his wife wants to run for the hills. [They shoulda said ‘sandhills’] Sarah Paley writes about her new life as a reluctant spouse.”

In the upper right is a lovely photograph of Paley with this cutline: “The author in a Narciso Rodriguez shift dress & Manolo Blahnik (was this a purposeful nod to ‘Sex & the City’ & a direct diss to Karl Rove et al) heels with her son, Henry, on their block in NYC.”

Straight off: the woman is funny. She so nails Nebraska but – and this is the one thing I think she got wrong – she acts like a fish out of water in Cornhusker Country when, in fact, her humor is quintessentially Nebraskan. She describes herself as reserved; ranchers are too. The more I read, the more I realized that she’s just what Kerrey needs this time around. Don’t think he could pull it off in 2012 without a SuperStar Spouse.

For the Record, until Saturday, June 23, 2012, I thought State Senator Deb Fischer was going to win in November.

My new prediction; Bob Kerrey is going to be the oldest Comeback Kid in contemporary political history. Thanks to Sarah Paley.

There is nothing that Nebraskans like more than a man or a woman who can make them laugh ala Carson and Cavett. Sarah Paley’s got that. Check.

There’s nothing Nebraskans appreciate more than someone who is both self-effacing and wry. That, too. Check.

Sarah Paley may be a born and bred New Yorker but she sure sounds like a classic New Braskan. Check. Or as they say near the Bohemian Alps. Czech. Mate.

One Comment on “Sarah Paley: Kerrey’s Secret (SuperStar) Weapon”

  1. susan ashwe Says:

    Loved this article…so telling is such a charming way & we Nebraskans are really wanting the results to be be Bob back in office!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

